Quotes from the blogosphere: Patience for publishing in the “right” journal: like trying to get sex at a bar…

I wrote there that my inkling is two tries. Two tries max. First, mama needs some damned publications these days, so I approach publication like trying to get sex at a bar. I might shoot high once and then just get the shit in. Thankfully, my “shoot highs” basically always work, so I need not settle for journal stank…

-Dr. Isis on her blog, commenting on the patience people have for publishing their article on a particular preferred journal.

 

Also,

(…) submitting six times is not like approaching six different girls at six different bars. It’s like approaching the same girl at a different bar each time, over and and over, and saying, “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” “Wanna fuck?” (I think that was seven times). I mean, maybe after seven tries and a couple of cocktails the poor dude gets a pitty fuck, but certainly no one’s coming out the other side feeling great about it. You mostly just end up looking pathetic.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

